Around the Lake


I love winter. I like the cold slapping me awake in the morning, reminding me there is life to be had. I have more energy, feel more relaxed. I like to think I am even more intelligent when it’s cold outside. (So you may not want to talk to me in July).

If it’s not too icy, I walk around a nearby lake on my days off. It’s a hilly three miles, enough to “blow the stink off,” as my father says. Inspired by my talented friend, “B” (author of Murmuring Trees.blogspot.com and Behindthebins.wordpress.com) who is my blog initiator/cheerleader, tech support, birding buddy and all around best friend, I’ve been toting my little camera along and managed to pick up this cardinal, who was practicing his spring nuptials.
Both male and female cardinals sing, so when you hear “what-cheer, cheer, cheer,” it could be either bird. They countersing one another. One starts, “birdy, birdy, birdy,” then the other will match it. Then the first one will sing a new phrase, ““whoit whoit, whoit,” and the other will match it again. Stand and listen to the duet; it is an important symphony to unify members of a pair, and a very sure sign of spring.
The earth is rolling over, daylight is getting longer, and the the sun has left a warm kiss upon my cheek.

This entry was posted in cardinal, cold, daylight, earth, song, spring, trees, walk. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Around the Lake

  1. Deedee says:

    Wow, I like summer the best!Butterfly season.In winter I hibernate and need more sleep,like a bear!Really like your style off writing!!

  2. joyce says:

    Maybe this summer (not in July) I will make that walk with you again and finish it this time

  3. Bevson says:

    Nice shot of the cardinal. I have not heard or seen one in weeks. Did you steal mine? Thank you for the lovely mention in your post. You are a natural. I enjoy your writing. It is very personal in a way mine will never be.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I was happy to see this piece. It cheered me up. Cardinals are my favorite. We have alot of them in the rear yards. I truly enjoy seeing this beautiful red bird set against a snowfall. They do have a distinctive chirp and song. Winter is refreshing. The coldness wakes up the brain. Seeing the cardinal in winter reminds me how warm and cozy it can be, regardless of cold temperatures.Kimmie (fruit from the tree)

Leave a Reply

