My Inner Quilter

I have discovered my inner quilter. She wakes up when I accompany my mother or my sister to their favorite fabric store haunts. They are magicians with the craft and I have become comfortable with some of the quilting lingo: Log Cabin, Bear Claw, appliqué, quilting stitch, batting, backing. But nothing brings out my inner quilter more than walking into a clean, sunlit room filled with rainbow racks of fine cotton. I anticipate being bored on these little excursions, but instead am drawn into the sensuality of color: emerald, violet, mustard, umber, teal, gold, blue. The brilliant imaginations of artists are displayed through the designs: lions, tigers, bears, horses, roses, daisies, exotic plants twirling in and out of graceful bamboo stems, rainbow swirls, dove gray bubbles on ivory. My eyes rake over the feast, drawing in my favorites into one magical piece in my mind. I have a quilt in me somewhere waiting to come out. Unfortunately, it will have to wait until I have time because of one teeny, weeny piece:

I don’t know how to sew.

I can’t seam a straight line.

Before my inner quilter can grow up, we will have to take care of that little detail.

I have a way with a needle. I can do just about any embroidery stitch you hand over. My shelves are filled with counted cross stitch and needlepoint pattern books. I was just never interested in s-e-w-i-n-g. The process of pattern cutting, pinning, cutting and stitching is one great, big yawn.

Except for an eighth grade home economics class where I was forced to manufacture a green corduroy jumper that made me look like the frozen broccoli box version of the Jolly Green Giant, I have neither the knowledge nor the desire to toil over zipper insertions, buttonholes, darts, pleats or inseams. If the hem unravels on my trousers, double-sided tape works great. If I find a hole in a favorite tee shirt, well, why did God create iron-on patches?

When I accompanied my mother on a little jaunt to Sandy’s Quilt Shop, http://www.sandysquiltshopllc.com, in Harbour Heights, Florida, I was captivated by the dazzling array of patterns and colors of hundreds of fabric bolts standing at attention on the shelves like tall, soft books. The little store was filled with natural light so the colors could show their true selves. There was the fresh smell of clean wood, and there were a few customers who had already stacked up their choices on the cutting board. The piled fabrics were a gourmet of color. I wanted to eat them.

My inner quilter took out her credit card and bought the nucleus of her stash, this year’s Hoffman’s Challenge; http://www.hoffmanchallenge.com/2008challenge/2008main.htm.

Keeping in mind that my inner quilter is also a birder, who could resist? I bought two yards and have no clue what to do with it. But like good quilters everywhere, this fabric is part of a plan greater than myself….


This entry was posted in birders, color, cotton, credit card, fabric, Hoffman's Challenge, needle, quilt, quilters, sew, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Inner Quilter

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great writing!!Dd

  2. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful description, Di. And you bought the peacock? AWESOME! I can’t wait to see the quilt it becomes. : ) I have faith.Kim

  3. Anonymous says:

    After reading this I just know you have many quilts inside you and just like writing -they are waiting to come out. If you can do fancy embroidery stitches, you can quilt- that is what is so great about it, it’s easy! So glad to hear you have started your stash but watch out-it tends to grow quickly.Joyce

  4. Bevson says:

    My Home Ec sewing project was an apron, bear in mind we were all wearing minis at the time, so it was not a large project. I also have ZERO interest in sewing. Ugh, I was even in a Pins and Needles 4H club. But give me a skillet and we are cookin’ with gas.

  5. Anonymous says:

    So is the point to cut the challenge fabric into bits and sew it onto other fabric and make a nice pattern?You’d have to be crazy to want to go thought that sort of hell. (Just my opinion of course. I know quilters arent’ crazy…)Good luck with it. Are you going to sew the whole thing by hand she asks shuddering at the thought.

  6. Anonymous says:

    You go girl! I, too, have always wanted to quilt, and I have in a past life made most of my clothes, shirts for Vic, and even dress coat, hat, and velvet riding pants for Suzanne, but I never learned to quilt. The senior ladies in my church have a small group that meets weekly and all is done on a wooden frame, by hand – that to me is real quilting, forget the machines! Let’s do it one day – before our eyesight goes and arthritis sets in! wilma

  7. Anonymous says:

    I can sew, tho not my favorite thing to do. Always thought that some day when I become sedintary I would make a quilt. . . Yes, if you can embroider you can quilt! Dd

  8. Anonymous says:

    I have never quilted but I’m fascinated by the communal nature of the quilting “circle” that women have had for years. Lois

Leave a Reply

