Clean Greens

This morning I spotted “our” bunny nibbling in a corner of the backyard, now emerald green from spring showers. Every time I think of spraying the weeds to keep them from destroying the turf grass, I think of that bunny and how the poor thing would be slurping up a mouthful of poison instead of juicy plantain stalks. Someone from a chemical lawn company must have noticed our property needs help, what with bare patches and moss intermingling with glowing stands of dandelion and mystery greens. The rep actually rang the doorbell and introduced himself to my husband, who assured him we were fine. The wildlife that crosses our patch of earth are fine too, thank you very much.
Frankly, I enjoy the variety of grasses and wildflowers that slip in and visit. It’s normal for things to grow there. It’s not normal to nurture a monoculture of rye grass to the exclusion of everything else.
The ground ivy; however, has become arrogant and controlling. At least, it has a pretty purple flower in spring but that is all I can say for it. Every year, I crawl around the yard for hours pulling it out by hand, an activity that is not altogether unpleasant but largely unsuccessful. It sneaks back in during the night like a bad guest. At least it’s green, so it gets mowed along with everything else.
I mow around a sprig of spring beauty, a tiny wildflower that comes back every year in the same spot in the middle of the back yard, springing open its streaked pink petals in time for me to notice its delicate nature and give her a wide berth with the mower. I do the same for violets, even though they are all over the place. My mother said violets were her mother’s favorite flower, and since Nana died when I was only six months old, violets are all I have of her. So, while these tiny denizens of my secret backyard life spin their lives out during the month of May, my mowing pattern looks like someone was drunk while shaving. Little random tufts of tall grass with purple and white peaking through their grassy verticals. It makes me smile.

This entry was posted in bunny, ground ivy, lawn, mow, poison, spring beauty, wildflowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clean Greens

  1. Anonymous says:

    And violets are the food plant for the Fritillaries!!Cherish them!Deedee

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love that you remember our Nana in this way!Barbara

Leave a Reply

