"Love What You Love"

I finally threw my leg over a horse again. As I nestled into the saddle and stretched my legs down long, and then asked the horse to move forward, my back instinctively flexed with the forward and back motion. It was like I had just gotten off yesterday instead of 17 years ago. A line from Mary Oliver’s poem, “Wild Geese,” kept repeating itself in my mind: “….You only have to let the soft animal of your body love what it loves….”
I ended up going to a different barn than Fox Ridge Farm, which seems to be having communication or scheduling issues, or both. But within a few hours of contacting Elite Equine Group, which is actually closer to my home, I was booked for a Saturday lesson within 24 hours of my initial email.
The instructor, Sarah, was great. She was encouraging, positive and intuitive: a perfect combination for someone returning to an old haunt with some trepidation. Turns out there are quite a few riders at this barn that are older and wiser, very understanding and downright welcoming. Bonnie is one of them. After retiring, she returned to riding and boards her horse Puzzle here. She offered to take a few pictures of my first day back in the saddle. A little blurry, but that is still me, trying out a Western saddle and feeling just fine.
“How does it feel to be back? Sarah asked. “You sure don’t look like you haven’t been riding for that long. And you can tell you were a dressage rider….”
Music to my ears, salve to my soul; my new, old happy place.
Only…well… I told Ken (my husband), who has been asking me what I want for Christmas; it looks like my old hardhat no longer meets current safety requirements. I think I’ll need a new one….

This entry was posted in communication, Elite Equine Group, hardhat, horses, saddle, safety. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to "Love What You Love"

  1. Anonymous says:

    Just like riding a bike, huh?jv

  2. Apples says:

    That’s fantastic! Congratulations 🙂

  3. I’m so happy you decided to do this. I’ll bet your leg muscles might be a little sore now. And did I mention you look great. A new helmet would be a perfect Christmas gift too, good thinking. Have fun at your next lesson/ride. It’s so nice you found a barn with older/wiser riders, sounds like you’re in for a lot of fun.

  4. deejbrown says:

    As a matter of fact, I am stiffer today, 2 days after my little ride, than I was yesterday! Time to get in shape….

  5. Sparverius says:

    You look great out there. I am so glad you are doing what you love. After I read your post, I watched some videos of dressage. I’ve never looked at it quite like I did this time. It helps to have some type of connection. So thank you for opening my eyes to a new experience.

  6. Alll Righhtt!!! So, stop by my blog and pick up a bouquet to show how thrilled I am that you’re riding again.

Leave a Reply

