First Day of Winter 2008

View from the driveway this morning

After shoveling 13 inches of snow off the deck, I cleaned and refilled the heated birdbath, replenished the seed feeders (the black bears are finally denning) and stuffed the suet cage. The results were immediate:

Tufted Titmouse
Black-capped Chickadee
Downy Woodpecker

Time for a cup of tea and a good book…ahhh…zzzzzzzzz…..

This entry was posted in birdbath, black-capped chickadee, downy woodpecker, first day of winter, suet, tufted titmouse. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Day of Winter 2008

  1. Looks like we had the same weather. It’s still snowing here. I’ll bet the birds are so happy you’re helping them out.

  2. AnnL says:

    Oh, I miss my birds. I used to have several feeders and had flocks of birds at them, especially the gold finches. In summer, I got everything from evening grosbeaks to indigo buntings. But, 2 years ago a stray black cat adopted me. He hated being an indoor cat so he goes in and out. He’s a good hunter and while that’s good for the rodent population in the barn, he was hunting off the bird feeders. So, I stopped feeding the birds. I felt like I was luring them to their death. 😦 I still garden to attract birds–lots of seed and berry plants. The garden plants give them some protective cover. But, it’s not the same as looking out the window and seeing a couple of dozen finches on the feeder. Enjoy your birds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

