Where Are The Peanuts?

As I sipped my coffee this morning, I felt a tingle at the back of my neck. It was early and my husband was still snoring in the bedroom, but the sun was already promising a cloudless day. The titmice, chickadees and juncos were jabbing at the newly replenished feeders and I had settled down into my daily routine of writing my Morning Pages. New Year’s Day offers lots of writing fodder as long as I avoid tiresome resolutions.
But there was another awareness in the room, a restlessness beside my own. Something was waiting. For me. I looked around. Our six cats were picking out their napping territories. I had the day off from work. The neighbors were not out walking their dogs yet.
I glanced out the sliding glass door that opens to the backyard deck. In the bare oak branches beyond the railing were half a dozen black crows staring at me through the window. Once in a while, one would flick a wing and cock its head to the side to glare at me. Laced throughout the smaller branches flicked the nervous wings of at least ten Blue Jays, also facing the window. One flew to the rail and poked at the wood, then flew back to the trees.
The crows suddenly burst into a chorus of caws and croaks. There was much head bobbing. They soared around the yard and rearranged themselves again in the dark trees, and sat still again, watching me and my coffee cup.

Where are the peanuts?

(The photos were taken through glass–please pardon the blurriness)


This entry was posted in Blue Jays, crows, deck, peanuts. Morning Pages. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where Are The Peanuts?

  1. Were they waiting for a special treat? Peanuts? You’re so good to feed them year round, I’m sure they appreciate it and are just a tad spoiled by now.

  2. RevMomVt says:

    OMG — that is great!! The wild birds have trained you at long last!! What tricks will they teach you to do next?

  3. Kim says:

    Too funny. Those birds with those enormous peanuts in their slender little beaks! I’ll have to buy some peanuts, too. I didn’t realize they were so popular. Happy New Year!

  4. Sparverius says:

    Way to listen to that unsettled feeling in the air. Who knows what might have happened if they didn’t get their peanuts! I shudder at the thought.

  5. AnnL says:

    Oh, how wonderful! A great start to the New Year for all the critters!

  6. noflickster says:

    Beautiful New Year’s post (and Happy New Year to you and yours)! Amazingly, crows are the one species that have been relatively scarce around our feeder this season, only two, down from earlier years, have been staking out our seeds. Maybe I need to introduce peanuts to the mix!BTW, I’ve tagged you for the “< HREF="http://featherflower.blogspot.com/2009/01/meme-six-random-things.html" REL="nofollow">six random things<>” meme, I suspect those words are either the most welcome or most dreaded for any blogger. Apologies if you’ve done this already and I missed it!-Mike

Leave a Reply

