My Power Bird

I took the Blogthings test again and am a little embarrassed that I ended up with a vulture as my power bird. My sister’s power bird turns out to be a swan, which, socially speaking, would be more welcome at your party. I took the test three times to see if I could come up with something other than a vulture. I got the same answer every time.

“You are always changing your life and the lives of those around you.
You aren’t afraid to move on from what holds you back.
Energetic and powerful, you have a nearly unlimited capacity for success.
You know how to ‘go with the flow’ and take advantage of what is given to you.”

This doesn’t really fit at the moment, though not through lack of effort on my part. Certain unbloggable events have created roadblocks and right know I’m working on the last line about going with the flow. I brighten up a bit; however, when I read what Ted Andrews says about vultures in “Animal Speak.” All you folks with the pretty birds may just be a little jealous now:

“In alchemy, the vulture was a symbol of sublimation, particularly because of its resemblance to the eagle. The vulture was considered a sign of confirmation of a new relationship between the volatile aspects of life and the fixed, the psychic energies and the cosmic forces. It was a promise that the suffering of the immediate was temporary and necessary for a higher purpose was at work, even if not understood at the time….”

So here it is; my new bird totem. You never know.

This entry was posted in Animal Speak, Blogthings, Ted Andrews, totem power bird. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Power Bird

  1. Egad. My Power Bird was Vulture too. Maybe it’s always Vulture? No wait, you said your sister was a Swan. I do like what it says about Vultures though.

  2. If you took it more than once, and came up with the same answer all three times, you are ‘The Vulture’. There’s nothing wrong with that, every bird has it’s purpose in life. As long as you can go with the flow of life and the other characteristics associated with the vulture you are fulfilling your ‘power bird’ destiny. Ted Andrews description is great, I never thought of vultures like that, now I have a whole different outlook about them.

  3. chant-1 says:

    Hey, move over at that road kill there and let a fellow vulture in… ; )And THANK YOU for the reference to the Ted Andrews book; I’ve seen references to it before but couldn’t remember for the life of me the title/author.

  4. noflickster says:

    Coincidentally, another of the folks I tagged brought vultures into the mix through his “6 random things.” I liked how it started and turned out, referencing the birds as “peace eagles.” Post available on < HREF="http://conservationconversations.blogspot.com/2009/01/six-random-things-meme.html" REL="nofollow">Conservation Conversations<>.Vultures truly are an amazing species, in spite of their unfairly assigned bad rap.-Mike

  5. Apples says:

    Sublimation in chemistry refers to something changing from a solid state to a vapor without becoming liquid first. Like how snow disappears sometimes without melting.A change of state.

  6. p.s. just out of curiosity I went and took the power bird quiz. It turns out I am a Cardinal.Here’s what it says:Your Power Bird is a CardinalYou believe that each day is precious, and you spend your times as best as you can.You see the wonder in small things, and you are often content with what you have.You life an interesting, colorful life – and you bring color to those around you.Confident and expressive, you believe you know how to live a good life. You’re living it!I liked the description and hope to live up to it.Thanks for posting this it was fun.

  7. Sparverius says:

    Thanks for the link. Turns out I’m a Dove. Not exactly what I thought it might be. But there you go.:)

Leave a Reply

