"What is Essential is Invisible to the Eye"

Wahoo! Another award from Teachings of the Horse! Thank you!

Like Victoria, I had to take a moment to appreciate the presentation of an award that is not the most exquisite aspect of human anatomy; however, I am thrilled to receive it because it symbolizes the relationship that develops between people of like interests, which is what makes blogging so wonderful.

The creator of this award says:

“The Van Gogh’s Ear Award is for blogs that are making a difference in the blogosphere. Its creator said, “We are all artists in our own way, be it art, photography, writing, philosophy, comedy, or blogging, and we all go a little crazy sometimes. But if you ever feel so crazy to cut off your ear and give it to a prostitute, “Seek Help”! Always remember you’re unique. Just like everyone else.”

To give my writing muses a poke, I examined the award and studied the curling messages: “Outstanding artists, achievement, art photography writing philosophy comedy blogging The Very Best.” and am humbled to be included. While I know the sad story of the great artist’s sufferings and his passionate self mutilation for the love of his Rachel, there was an elusive “something” in the mists of my mind that would not come out.

I put the thought on the “back burner,” and went to work, dealt with meetings, a building emergency, an angry colleague, computers not working properly. I started planning out the weekend with its errands stacking up: Bring Simba to the vet for his diabetes check-up, map out next week’s groceries and what’s on sale, clean the house, pick up ten million branches and twigs dropped by the winter winds in preparation of spring clean-up, 3-mile exercise walk around the lake, riding lesson Sunday…and then I smiled, wondering which horse I would be riding this week.

My mind drifted off to last week’s session on “Quarterback,” and our difficult but successful practice of listening to each other to figure out what the other one was asking, and the satisfaction of feeling my body responding to something beyond itself. It’s the same wordless joy I feel when out watching birds and following their lives through binoculars. Simply put, I leave myself behind to enter another dimension, one I cannot see but whose energy enters mine through the willingness to listen without words. Listening through the filter of loving what you love.

As Antoine De Saint-Exupery in the Little Prince so eloquently put it:

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

This entry was posted in Antoine De Saint-Exupery, Ear Award, The Little Prince, VanGogh. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to "What is Essential is Invisible to the Eye"

  1. Congratulations on your award, you’re certainly deserving of it. I liked the quote from the Little Prince too. Have fun riding this weekend and becoming attuned to what the horse of the week needs.

  2. And this is exactly why I gave you this award. Have fun riding tomorrow!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Bravo Oak in the Seed! Your blogs are delicious to the eye and elicit an Ahhh in their text! Nina

  4. Anonymous says:

    I <>love<> <>The Little Prince<>! And yes, congratulations on your well-deserved award. K

Leave a Reply

