Looking for a Break in Routine

It’s been months since I have had time off from my daily routine. As grateful as I am to have one, and as valuable as it is to establish structure in your life, routine can become a trap. When you do the same thing day after day, week after week, month after month, you don’t have to think about it any more. Your brain goes on autopilot. The light of creativity fogs over.

Since I have been in my current job for many years, I have accumulated the maximum of vacation days, a coveted treasure of time. My husband is not overly fond of traveling but does not mind if I take off now and then. He takes care of home and hearth, gifting me with worry-free time to indulge my birding habits or visits with family.

I prefer quiet, nature-oriented vacations. A Perfect Day for me would be to wake up in my little log cabin in the woods, sip my coffee next to the lake while watching the loons, and then wander on some local roads or woodland trails with my binoculars, camera, nature guides and notebook to lose myself in what I love. Learn the name of a new wildflower (including relearning the names of the ones I have forgotten, which seems to be happening more and more these days). Perch on top of a rock for hours and watch a flock of Common Mergansers pick their way along the shore, search out ways of looking at the world through a camera lens, and most of all, surrender to the words in my head that flood the page writing about what is right in front of me.

I feel kind of dried up now and need to go back to the well. One of my favorite places used to be a tucked-in resort in the Adirondacks, a mere four hours drive from home. I spent the days roaming the woods and roadsides by myself, and in the evening enjoy a glass of wine or two with other guests for a community social hour and dinner. Unfortunately, the place has changed hands and the qualities that made it so special have disappeared. I am looking for a new “personal retreat home” to recover, rediscover, reclaim and realign myself with the natural world, the Grand Physician of my heart and soul.

Do you know of a place that provides a simple, quiet lifestyle in a natural setting, yet is not too isolated or expensive? Making my own meals would be fine too (and possibly make it more affordable). Searching sites on-line are fine but pictures can be deceiving, as can other important features like meal quality, or do they allow noisy machines or music, or like one place I checked out; you have to share the bathroom with occupants of three other rooms.

Any ideas?

This entry was posted in Adirondacks, creativity, routine. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking for a Break in Routine

  1. I don’t know if you’d be interested in something on the water. L.I. Sound to be exact. It’s a place called Soundview on the Sound (original?. We used to go there once a year or so for a long weekend and it’s relaxing but not fancy. I always gravitate towards the water and like to walk on the beach etc. I haven’t been there in about 8 years so don’t know how much it’s changed or the town has changed. Greenport had some really interesting shops (I love Preston’s by the Sea) and great restaurants. The hotel itself has a great restaurant. If you’re interested check it out. I think you might like it. Let me know if you decide to try it, I’ll take the ferry over and stop by for lunch.

  2. deejbrown says:

    Thanks for this, Arlene! I will look into this–I love the idea of being near the Sound! And meeting you for lunch makes it particularly tempting!

  3. Thanks, if you do decide on going I just wanted you to know that it sits right on the road so there is some traffic noise. I don’t know how busy everything is right now before the season. But if you were looking for a sort of in the woods out of the way place, this isn’t tucked away. Now that I recommended this place I’m afraid you wouldn’t like it if you went, not everyone likes to be in a motel on the road. The beach is all that attracted me and having an efficiency unit with the kids helped. Check it out good before you decide. I don’t want to be responsible for you having a lousy time.

  4. Sparverius says:

    Wonderful post. I can relate in so many ways, and wish I could offer a suggestion. But I think I’d just come up with western locals, which would probably be bit out of your way.

  5. deejbrown says:

    Thanks again, Arlene: The place sounds wonderful and close to the beach. For this little vacation; however, I would like to go where it’s quiet, where I can hear the wind in the trees, etc., so this may not fit (this time!).

Leave a Reply

