Recovering the Wild Side

My blog has fallen into a hole. I think about it at the end of the day, or when I’m driving or starting a new project at work, or organizing staffing for the next month. I haven’t blogged a thing lately. I remind myself to post something, and then the next thought is: What shall I write about?

blank space

An article about a travel writer, Jill Shenshul (North Jersey Media Group) caught my eye this morning. She is preparing to go on a vacation to volunteer for two weeks with PAWS (People and Wildlife Solutions) Namibia Conservation and Big Cat Rehabilitation Programme. This isn’t exactly candy striper work. She will be dismantling windmills, clearing brush and repairing fence lines to help restore the former farmland to its natural state and return Namibian wildlife to the area, particularly the big cats. If she’s lucky, she will accompany the staff when a cheetah or leopard is returned to the wild. Unfortunately, she is deathly afraid of snakes. How inconvenient to go where your phobia could be curled behind a bush.

I put the article down and thought: I’m not afraid of snakes. I imagined the people she would meet, the animals she might see, the big blue skies of Africa. For a moment, the fog cleared from the buried creativity of my brain and I caught a glimpse of the energy lying there. I may not be able to go to Africa and help in wildlife recovery, but I can go to New England and rediscover my creative spirit among the white pines and spring sun.

When I told my sister I was thinking of driving the Vermont/Lake Champlain birding trail, she said, “I hope you’re not coming to Vermont and thinking that you won’t use our house as your home base!” I smiled.

I was planning on stopping in at some point, but hey…can’t pass that up! I’ll pack the usual: the scope, binoculars, laptop, camera, notebook. Spend the days wandering the Lake Champlain birding hotspots, hop a ferry to loop through the Adirondack side and generally indulge myself in doing whatever comes my way. Maybe write myself back again, when there is something worth saying. Then return to my family, pour a glass of wine (or two), laugh, enjoy good conversation, and sleep.

It will happen in a few weeks. In the meantime, my wonderful blogger friends whose writings and photographs I enjoy every day, hang in there and wait for me. I’ll be back, maybe sooner than later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recovering the Wild Side

  1. Sounds like you’ve found a great place to relax and unwind. Have a great time renewing yourself. We’ll be here when you get back.

    I know just how you feel about posting, I find it hard lately to come up with something too, my brain must be in a holding pattern…

  2. You just need to recharge the batteries and not get caught up in the tyranny of posting — quality, not quantity is your hallmark.

    Jim

  3. noflickster says:

    I think everyone, nature bloggers in particular,should adopt a periodic break for the three Rs: Refresh, Recharge, and Return.

    Enjoy your time getting back to that wild side, I’ll be waiting!
    -Mike

Leave a Reply

