Skinnydipping in Time

Ah. Today, Memorial Day, is my last day of vacation. It is officially a holiday, but since it was attached to five days off work from last week, it served as a bonus.
But as The Return to Work edges closer, I am picking up the reins of self discipline, especially when it comes to writing. You can only let yourself get away with so much lack of it before you go brain-dead. Let’s face it; there is a place for structuring your time, and a place for letting it go, like dropping your clothes to go skinnydipping in a secret pond. You have to come out and get dressed sooner or later or risk getting water-logged, or in this case, time-logged. Too much time, like too much water, can leave you soggy and heavy and aimless, though I confess never to have gotten to that point in my entire lifetime. But I know of others who have, either through retirement or unemployment, when the initial flush of being released from the harness becomes wandering lost in the fields of unstructured hours.
In this, I intend to be like my mother, who has remained active in one way or another throughout her retirement years in sunny Florida. She and Dad have been happy because of their innate curiosity about things they have not yet figured out in their 85 years on this earth.
Someday, somehow, I hope to follow them, not to Florida, but in the freedom of time to invest myself. In fact, I have a growing list:

  • Learn to quilt. Since I don’t know how to sew, this might be interesting.
  • Volunteer at an animal shelter.
  • Learn more about Linda Tellington Jones TTouch training and interspecies communication, and then use it.
  • Volunteer at a food pantry.
  • Work in the yard on cool summer mornings.
  • Go birding.
  • Ride a nice slow horse when kids are in school and the barn is quiet.
  • Volunteer at the barn once or twice a week.
  • Bake my own bread. Not with a bread-making machine either.
  • Assist Nina at Red Barn Farm with her organic vegetable farm.
  • Write. A lot.
  • Take a photography class or two, or three.
  • Exercise.
  • Go birding.
  • Learn Html
  • Attend another BlogHer conference.
  • Visit friends and family in other states.
  • Learn how to do wallpapering.
  • Go birding.
  • To be continued….

What would your list look like?

This entry was posted in list, time, water-logged. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skinnydipping in Time

  1. Great list. I would love to do so many things but I seldom have the time to fit in what needs to be done around here.
    I would love to never have to pull another weed as long as I live.
    Have time to ride and train the horses, which I haven’t been able to for a long time.
    Write and maybe take a workshop.
    Sew some curtains for the kitchen, grandchildren’s bedroom.
    Have all the work done on the farm so I can spend more time riding training horses, giving baths etc…
    Go to some horse clinics/shows.
    Never have to pull another weed again…
    Have time to read a book.
    There are many more things I would like to do and someday I hope to catch up on all this stuff and be able to relax and enjoy everything. I’ve got to stop obsessing about everything being done before I ride.

    I thought of you today as I was in the Mule at the back of the property where there is a river with reeds,(might be a swamp now) and some folks stopped by to look at the birds sitting on the reeds. Binoculars and all.
    Thanks for leaving the nice note for me. I love your blog and your insight on life.
    Too bad your vacation is over and you have to head back to work. Hope you can fit a few things in that are on your list soon.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Di – so glad to have you back, and I loved this post!

    It’s funny how similar our lists are; I keep thinking about quilting, and I love photography, and of <>course<> the horses! It’s fun to think about, isn’t it? I’ve always wanted to try pottery, and would love to take classes in painting – both watercolor and oils. I want to walk a labyrinth and I’d love to have the time to meditate daily instead of just sporadically. And yes, I would definitely write more; I picture myself someday having a converted gypsy wagon as a writing studio: it would be brightly painted and be nestled in a profusion of flowers, and I would go there to think and dream and plot and write…

    This is as much fun as planning what to do with my lottery winnings, when I eventually hit the big one. ; )

    Kim

  3. Sparverius says:

    I’ve certainly been absent for a while. I’m not quite back into it, yet, just trying to catch up on some blogs that I’ve missed.

    What would I do if I had no work obligations? This is an interesting question, because I have been feeling so burned out. I took a mental health day off from work last week because I cried when I thought about going in.

    But really, how would I spend my time? You’ve given me something to think about. Maybe I’ll have to turn it into a blog post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

