Ticked Off!

If you are squeamish about ticks, stop reading now. In fact, I am not going to read it either.
But while tapping away at my keyboard at work the other morning, I absentmindedly slapped my hand to the back of my neck to rub the itchy spots left by black flies from the weekend gardening tasks. It’s not enough that the little bastards wiggle around in front of your eyes when you are trying to do something; they also zero in and start chewing away on your skin and leave an annoying lump that lasts for days, which is what I was rubbing when I found…
A TICK.
The bile rose in my throat. I couldn’t see it but could feel the smooth globe of its body attached to the back of my skull. There is only so much you can ask of your colleagues. “Will you pull an engorged tick out of my head?” is not one of them.
So I did what you, dear Reader, would have done. The instant my fingers felt the plump body of this most disgusting of insects, my nails dug into my scalp and I pulled. My hands wanted to scream, “OH MY GOD! We are closing in on a TICK!” And then came away bloodied.
I’da like to have passed out. Still do, when I think of it.
So I won’t.
When I get to heaven, this is going to be on my top ten list of questions: “Why do we exist? What is death? What is the purpose of life?
What WERE you thinking when you created ticks?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ticked Off!

  1. I hate the little bastards too, there is absolutely no reason for them to be on the earth, except to cause disease and disgust.
    Hope you’re okay now that it’s gone.

  2. Sparverius says:

    There are a lot of little nasty critters out there, and for almost all of them I can think of a purpose for them…mosquitoes for example. I hate them, but they have a purpose. But when it comes to ticks, oh, they make my skin crawl. Ohh, I don’t know what I would have done if I’d made your discovery. And I can think of no purpose for their existence.

  3. Maria says:

    Yuck, add mosquitoes, sand gnats and deer flies to that list, oh and put fire ants at the top.

  4. Jo says:

    My arms feel weak thinking of it.

  5. Tom Burr says:

    Ah, but what would the grandfather clocks do without ticks–to go along with their tocks?

  6. LOL, I hate them too. I about passed out when I found one on my son Ethan last summer. They are really and truly disgusting creatures!! I'm glad you found it, though. Guess that's one good thing about the bugbites in that they are the reason you discovered the critter? Maybe not. Yuck and double-yuck!

    Ahh, Heaven will be a glorious place–no bugs!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Just Gods creatures!

Leave a Reply

