Social Networking-The Old Fashioned Way

Ken and I are once again looking forward to Saturday mornings, not only because it’s summer and you don’t have to shovel sunshine from your driveway to go anywhere, but because the Ringwood Farmer’s Market is back in the parking lot adjacent to the public library, so we have food and books, all in one economical trip. What could be better than to feed the body and the mind at the same time?
Nina’s Red Barn Farm is back with scallions that jumped into my bag along with eggs from her hens and honey from her hives.
Pie Eyed Bar Pies is back in the corner offering samples of his pies, so I visit him every week, and every week purchase a few more jars of his marinara sauce. (It’s better than mine and a lot less work). I had better stock up; winter is coming.

Sweet singers….
I’m a sucker for pottery, especially with cat faces on them.
Folks are permitted to bring their dogs to the Market, which tickles me no end. I am crazy about dogs, German Shepherds in particular, probably because they remind me of a very special dog in my life.

We have lived in this town for 14 years, but when you do not have children and work in a town over 20 miles away on “the other side of the mountain, it can be difficult to get to know fellow townspeople.The Market has become a small touchstone for me to greet those I have come to know and smile at increasingly familiar faces. It is social networking the old-fashioned way, the one where real faces smile back at you, and know your name.

Here is a recipe given to me last week that I have not tried making yet but will today with the produce purchased from our local farmers:

Bok Choy Salad
Large head bok choy, chopped
2 bunches scallions
celery to taste

Toast 2 packages of Ramon noodles (do not use seasoning)
Toast 2 ounces sliced almonds
Toast 2.5 ounces sesame seeds.

Dressing:
2 Tblsp soy sauce
½ cup sugar (or to taste)
3/4 cup olive oil
½ cup rice wine vinegar (unseasoned)
Bring to a boil no longer than one minute. Cool and toss w/salad.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in dogs, friends, Nina's Red Barn Farm, Ringwod Farmer's Market. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Social Networking-The Old Fashioned Way

  1. Anonymous says:

    I have made that Bok Choy salad thing.
    It is yummy!! I like that market, too.
    Have been there several times when
    my friend, Rebel Red, performs! Dd

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh, and I love all the dogs, too!!

  3. I love summer, too. We get to see our neighbors and chat. Your market looks very appealing. My eye was particularly drawn to the pine cone pottery and the birdhouses. Have a great weekend!

  4. That's a great place to shop and meet people. I love German Sheperds too and have had many. The recipes sound good too. I'm glad you had a nice time.

  5. Maria says:

    what a fun day, I love farmer's markets

  6. Anonymous says:

    Last weekend I got the carrot-ginger soup from Down Under – it's SO yummy, hot or cold.

    I loved the carrot picture, and the one with the asparagus. You've got quite an eye, Di.

    Maybe one of these weekends we'll run into each other!

    Kim

  7. Bevson says:

    I love going to farmers markets. The terrific thing about yours is that it is small and people know your name. Love your pictures. I absolutely adore the carrot in the bag shot and the pottery is wonderful. You know I have a penchant for pottery.

Leave a Reply

