It’s All About Cats!

Mark the date on your calendar: The third weekend of July, we go the annual Cat Expo hosted by the Garden State Cat Club of New Jersey, Inc. It offers an unparalleled opportunity to learn about the many breeds of cats and the people who love them. Like any animal lover, they are a culture unto themselves, with language, tools, habits and tricks known only to them. Ken & I go with friends who are also cat owner/lovers, where we spend the day admiring kittens and cats of all shapes and sizes, whims and “catitutes.” Oh…and a little shopping on the side….
Come on! Let’s go!

As you go in the front door, you have lots of opportunities to adopt a cat or kitten in need of a home. Despite Ken’s and my stalwart promises, we caved in three years ago and adopted a little black cat named Bear, who is now one of the loves of our lives.
I think this one might be calling you….
Entering the holding arena. The draped areas are the show rings sprinkled throughout the hall.
Ken making his way down Meow Mall.

A judge at work. I think she really wants to give this little guy a kiss but held back.
Break for shopping…..
A forest of cat furniture!
One of these days, I will have a big Maine coon, just like this time.
One of my sisters was owned by a Siamese cat. She claims it was one of the most amazing experiences of her life.
Home away from home.
Cornish Rex. Perhaps named Yoda?
My personal show favorite was a British Shorthair. This is “Blue Sterling,” affectionately known as “Bug.” I am smitten by this guy.
Did I mention there was shopping?
A 4-month old Cornish Rex. They are very sweet little guys.
A blue-point Absyinnian who knows his place in the world, and yours too.

There were lots of Persian cats there, being constantly fluffed and groomed. I think this guy was thinking about how good it would feel to roll in the mud.
Ken and I are suckers for black cats. We have TWO that look like this one.
We had a meow of a good time! Hope you enjoyed the show!
This entry was posted in cats, Garden State Cat Club of NJ. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s All About Cats!

  1. Kim says:

    Great pix! Some interesting and unusual looking cats…do you ever visit the LOLcats site? You might enjoy it. ; )

    Take care!

  2. forestal says:

    Some really neat looking cats there. I have to say Bug was my favorite too.

  3. dAwN says:

    Oh I love cat shows..14 years ago I went to one and came home with two cats..LOl
    still have one..and it looks like that fluffy black cat. It is a black Persian..
    lost my sweet boy orange Persian last year.
    How are you fur babies? Better I hope!

  4. Well that's a big show, I'll bet there is nothing you could think of for a cat that wasn't there. I liked that Blue Sterling too, I'm hoping that maybe Bug came home with you, he's really pretty.

  5. I'm a big fan of cat's also. Love the black ones. My female, Luna, looks just like the black one in the picture. She has HUGE green eyes!

    In our house we are all about adopting animals. I'll never, ever buy another cat as long as I live. There are too many out there that need homes. So many purebreds too. My other cat, Phineas, is a Tonk and what a beauty! We just love him to bits!

    Glad you had a good time at the show!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Achoo!

  7. What a great time I had at your cyber-show. I wish I had been there. Want to adopt another cat but Molly won't hear of it!! Besides, hubby wants a dog and I am resisting since Molly won't hear of that either. She is such a singular household cat!! xoxo C

  8. A says:

    What an adorable maneki neko! I love how the different cats are posed in a playful way!

  9. Cindy says:

    How fun Diane, I loved the Maine coon cat, the coloring. Nice pictures

  10. Sparverius says:

    I loved this! Cat heaven!

  11. Oh, I loved this post! I would love to attend a cat show sometime. Bug was cute, and I can see how his playful personality grabbed your attention. But my favorite is the Maine coon. My parents have one. Our cat looks just like the fluffy black one you photographed. She's a beauty and the dearest cat I've ever owned.

    Thanks for your comment today!

  12. I love black cats too. My dear old boy, BK – for Black Kitty – is not doing so well these days, but he is the sweetest cat I've ever known. These are great photos. Looks like you had lots of fun!

  13. rebecca says:

    Oh, this was such a great post. I did not know about this! And your pictures sold me. Now I'll have to be on the lookout for when one comes ny NY. My favorite cat was the coon n the grey one. I have 3 of my own, not one purebreed in the bunch, but to me, they are worth their weight in gold. I can see my husband and I just getting lost in it all…

Leave a Reply

