All Work and No Play Are Getting Things Done!

All work and no play are making me very dull indeed, but there have been some good results.

I am still with the same not-for-profit organization. My job changed as of June 1st. It has been a welcomed, if sometimes frustrating, challenge but it has also been an opportunity to learn new skills and a chance to turn loose my penchant for organizing everything in sight.

On weekends, I have been busy turning my house upside-down to satisfy a growing desire to jettison accumulated junk. A plan was formed to finally have the hardwood floors sanded and finished, which required clearing every stick of furniture (and books, knickknacks, crystal, serving dishes, depression glass pieces and sentimental chatchkas) to be packed and stored. Pieces that could not be carried downstairs were crammed into the guest room like a three-dimensional jigsaw puzzle. I cleared out both the dining and living rooms, hallway and den. Ken prepped the stairs and front door foyer, which was going to be replaced to match the red oak in the rest of the house.

The job was done a week ago. I herded the cats into our bedroom and remained with them while the men sanded and scraped, buzzed and sawed their way through the day. They were done with everything in only nine hours, with fabulous results:

Living room (note the House Inspector on the right).
Dining room, which had been stained BLACK by the former owner’s of the house. Even the owner of Classic Carpets was amazed at how well it came out!
Stairwell and replaced foyer floor.
My Space (Inspector is resting).

The next few weekends will be spent culling through the stuff I want to keep and preparing boxes to donate or sell on eBay (which will be a new adventure for me!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All Work and No Play Are Getting Things Done!

  1. WOW!! How wonderful it looks and will add so much to the value of your house!! Nice job…I know how tough that is to live in the house while floors are being refinished…have never done it, mind you but I hear tell…cc

  2. Wow, everything looks great! I love wood floors and think I may have bought my present house because each room has the wood floors.

    I applaud you on your enthusiasm for cleaning out the whole place and getting rid of unnecessary stuff. I've got to do it myself but just can't get motivated to even start on the closets. Ugh. I hate the thought of it, then there's the garage and basement. Forget it, now I'm going to take a nap, all this thinking about what a big job it is has got me tired.

  3. Kim says:

    Wow – it looks beautiful! There must be something in the air…I have been on a cleaning and organizing kick myself, although to look at my house you'd never know it. It always seems to get much worse before it gets better…

    : )

  4. Chris Petrak says:

    Ah to jettison junk. Not easy to do. Sorry I am not following you on facebook, but it is all I can do to keep up with the blogs.

  5. Wow, your floors are beautiful! It feels good to de-clutter doesn't it? Now that the kids are back in school, I'm planning on tackling their closets. (It will work a lot better if they aren't home to protest the removal of things they haven't played with in years.) I'm thinking eBay, too.

Leave a Reply

