I’ll Be Home for Christmas

@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 16pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

After a great debate with my lower and higher Self, I decided not to travel to Vermont for Christmas, not because I do not want to be part of the fun and frolic of family gatherings but because…hear my confession: It MIGHT snow in Vermont, which is like saying a bear might “you-know-what” in the woods.

You would think that having grown up in the northeast and driving on some of the most dangerous highways in the United States during snowstorms that I would be used to it by now, or at least take a ho-hum attitude. But nooooooo. It’s as if we were all born with a Snow Driving Courage Account, and I have not only depleted mine but have plowed through the interest as well. Having motored through washboard conditions, scraped ice off the INSIDE of my windshield, maneuvered through whiteouts, I have no nerve left to drive almost 300 miles by myself in winter, a third of the trip through rural and beautiful farmland.
So, starting today, I am home and on vacation until next year and would love to repeat that sentence. I don’t have to go back to work until next year.  Yes, I am overwhelming grateful to have a job, especially a job I like, but oh boy, I don’t have to go back to work until next year! But what to do now that my trip has been canceled?
Here is my amended to do list for Christmas week:
  1. Work at the animal shelter. Walk dogs. Play with cats.
  2. Write. Blog. Read. Meditate.
  3. Play with my camera. Download the free 30-day version of Photoshop and see if I can make any sense out of it.
  4. Go for walks. Every day.
  5. Take naps. Every day.
  6. Cook great food.
  7. Eat great food.
  8. Wrap presents.
  9. Open presents.
  10. Visit with my family of friends.
  11. Enjoy our great library.
  12. Smile and laugh.
  13. Buy a Subaru.
Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in Christmas, home, snow, Subaru, trip. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ll Be Home for Christmas

  1. Kim says:

    Merry Christmas! I'm sure you're disappointed not to be with your family, but your amended itinerary sounds divine! Enjoy yourself!!

  2. Kim says:

    Di, while I'm sure you'll miss being with your family, your revised itinerary sounds divine!! Enjoy your break, and have a very Merry Christmas!

  3. I know how you feel, I've spent my entire life driving through snow and ice and if I never had to again that would be fine with me. Staying home for Christmas and not putting yourself in a potentially bad situation is a smart plus in my book.

    Besides I think it will be a nice change of pace and very relaxing to do all the things you listed. And Yeah!! no work until next year.

    Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy Healthy New Year!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    It's too bad you won't be seeing your family at Christmas but a quiet time at home might be quite lovely. And let's face it. All that picture postcard perfection in Vermont would surely get on your nerves after a while. Who needs it?

    Merry Christmas. xx

    Jan

Leave a Reply

